Skip to content

Happy Mercy Day!

September 24, 2012

Reflections on what Mercy Day means to me

By Sister Regine F.

As I reflect on what Mercy Day means to me…

For me, Mercy Day began in first grade when holidays from school were priority.

September 24 changed as my classmates and I discovered life in our school days at Mercy elementary. We prayed every morning for the canonization of Catherine McAuley.

Gradually, Mercy meant our teachers, young spirited sisters – Joyful. They became for me inspiration to enter the novitiate when I was in my fourth year at Mercy High school.

Now, seventy-two years later, Mercy has deepened and evolved as I try to live Mercy every day. Cynthia Serjak says it well in her song. My paraphrase of her song is:

Mercy – affirming

Mercy – encouraging

Mercy – the blessing we’re celebrating today

No comments yet

What do you think?

