Skip to content

Vocation Awareness Week 2012

January 6, 2012

By Sister Cynthia S.

Awareness is such an amazing gift to the human community. We are the first creatures on this planet who know that we know. We are the first to be self-aware, to be able to reflect on and be grateful for all that we have been given. Within the context of this great gift, the Church asks us to take time during this week to be aware of our vocation, whatever that may be.

I first became aware of my vocation when I was 12. I was watching a sister interact with students, and admiring how she did that. I thought, “I’d like to be like that.” Before I could breathe I heard another voice say, “You could be.” I tucked that little exchange away in my heart as I grew up and life took me to a new city where I encountered the Sisters of Mercy. As I watched them I became aware of how much I admired their spirit, their way of being in the world, their commitment to justice and to service. The awareness of my own call began to deepen and somewhat later I found myself on their doorstep asking for admittance.

How aware are you of how God is calling you to live out your faith? Have you thought about being a sister, and giving your life totally to God in service? Currently there are 30 young women in our Institute of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas who are in the process of becoming sisters. With them we grow increasingly aware of the great needs in our world and we pray daily for the courage and strength to address them. We gain strength from our personal and communal prayer and from our bonds in community as we support and challenge one another to continue to sharpen our awareness of the world around us and the loving presence of God in our midst.

May this week be for you a time of blessed awareness.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn permalink
    January 6, 2012 9:43 am

    IS there an age limit to become a Sister? What if the journey of faith began at a later age and the heart is being pulled in this direction? Am in the RCIA process. HAVe been praying and thinking about this for over a year.

    • Sister Cynthia permalink
      January 9, 2012 2:05 pm

      Dear Lynn,
      There are so many women who develop a very rich journey of faith in their later years, and this is a wonderful thing. However, after great consideration we have determined that our age limit is 45. We have in the past accepted women who are older and found that in many cases it is more difficult than they or we thought to make the kind of changes in their lives that religious life requires. After a life of independence it can be very hard if not impossible to become accountable to others in a communal setting. Giving up any financial independence is also a hard thing. The good news is there are 3 other ways you can connect with the Sisters of Mercy if you are over 45: Mercy Association, Companions in Mercy and Mercy Volunteer Corps. If you want to read more about these, go to our website and click on Join Mercy.
      If you are younger than 45 and want to talk with someone about being a sister, you can also find a way to do that on our website under Become a Sister. Blessings on your journey!

What do you think?

