Skip to content

Inquiring on Mercy through my spiritual journey

November 21, 2011

By Eileen H.

Searching, asking, and wondering best describe what I have been experiencing these 16 months as I continue on in my spiritual journey in discovering my true calling.  Sixteen months ago, I met Sister Alyce, the first religious sister I ever met who happened to be a Mercy Sister.  Since then, I have established a beautiful friendship with Sister Alyce and Sister Virginia, another Mercy Sister, returned back to the church by attending weekly mass, volunteer at my parish, completed a basic catechism course, and continue to search for my place in this world and within the church.

Since my initial meeting with Sister Alyce, I have also had the privilege of meeting other Sisters of Mercy at the motherhouse in Burlingame while attending a discernment retreat, communicating with other Mercy Sisters I have met via social networks such as the Sisters of Mercy Forum/chat, Twitter, and Google+, and recently attended a Mercy Associates meeting.

Knowing that I am still pondering what my purpose is in this lifetime and how I am being called to live it, Sister Virginia invited me to attend the meeting.  Curious and excited all at the same time, I accepted the invitation, feeling it would be a wonderful opportunity to get another glimpse into the Sisters of Mercy community.

The meeting turned out to be a lovely and one I was grateful for experiencing.  The group, which consisted of 11 women, was a combination of Mercy Sisters and lay women.   The meeting began with prayer and a song.  Afterwards, we watched a very informative video that discussed Mercy Associates in detail and showed how women and men, Catholic and non-Catholic people can become associates.  The video also spoke of the commonalities that Associates and Mercy Sisters share and that is the devotion to the mission Catherine McAuley believed in by serving women, children, and the uneducated through love and compassion.

After the video, I was asked to introduce myself, for I was the only new face in the bunch.  In the spotlight, I gave everyone a brief introduction of who I was and how I met Sister Alyce and the others Mercy Sisters.  The meeting continued in an informal manner by sharing stories, thoughts, and news all related to helping others.  After the meeting was wrapped up and the conversation continued, I was very touched when I was invited to come back and had the opportunity to exchange contact information with another Mercy Sister and Mercy Associate.

Even after the meeting, I had a positive and warm presence over me.  Words can’t describe the overwhelming feeling I felt of being in a place filled with comfort and acceptance surrounded by people that were strangers, yet did not feel as such.  Not all my questions have been answered and I continue to move forward in my spiritual journey knowing in my heart that I am heading in the direction that God has intended me to seek and find.  It is also through the sheer presence of God in my life, by having an open mind and open heart, which inspired me to capture my thoughts in words.

I could be…

Singing a tune maybe drawing a doodle
Baking a pastry or making some noodles
Reading a story, perhaps writing a book
Taking a picture or simply having the look
I’ll just sit here under the leaves of this tree
Lean against the trunk as I watch the honeybees
Appreciate God’s creatures and beauty of the sky
Admiring the swiftness of the birds as they glide way up high
It’s moments like these that remind me to be thankful
Embrace one’s blessing and always be grateful
Take nothing for granted or be unappreciative
Welcome life and love how your living it

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 11:03 am

    Dear Eileen,
    I was happy to read this. I am excited for you and i feel blessed that you sent me this link and shared your blog. I am proud of you for doing what you think is right and i think a lot of people should.

    Esther

    • December 14, 2011 10:14 pm

      Thank u for your thoughts Esther🙂

  2. amps permalink
    November 21, 2011 6:46 pm

    I am not a Mercy Associate, and yet I feel as though I am a kindred spirit with them and Catherine McCauley. Each Mercy woman that I have met is an advocate for women and families and it is this great mission that I respect sooooo much.

    Your thoughts and experiences and the creativity that flowed from your interface with the Mercy chrism through this religious community are a living sign of God’s great grace in your life now. I am united with you in your journey of finding and living mercy with this religious community.

    Thank you so much for the courage to share in this world-wide format! amps

    • November 22, 2011 9:07 pm

      Thank you very much amps for leaving your thoughts-they are truly appreciated.

      It truly is amazing how God works in each of our lives, continue to look forward yo growing thru my spiritual journey, and thank u for being united with me through it ! May you and yours have a blessed Turkey Day–

  3. December 8, 2011 2:25 pm

    It is a wonderful ride, you will never regret it!

  4. Angie permalink
    December 13, 2011 9:06 pm

    E, thanks so much for sharing this here!!! Thanks for sharing the journey too!

    • December 14, 2011 10:13 pm

      Thank you for sharing with me your thoughts/comment. This journey to date has been a wonderful one and I’m so happy to have this opportunity to look deeper on thi path and continue to learn of my calling and purpose in God’s plan🙂 afterall – we are all on God’s time / Not our own!!

  5. December 14, 2011 10:10 pm

    Thank you Mary – yes you are right; for I try and faithfully live my life with no apologies / no regrets and all things connected with God’s word is good news:)

What do you think?

