Skip to content

Praise God’s Gracious Mercy

August 19, 2011

By Sister Carolyn B.

Recently nearly 600 Sisters, Associates, relatives and friends gathered at St. Francis de Sales Church in Cincinnati to celebrate God’s blessings in the lives of nine sisters who marked 50 and 60 years as Sisters of Mercy.  What has made it possible for these women to remain faithful to their commitment for so many years?

As one of the golden jubilarians, I can speak from my own experience.  Most important to me is God’s love and grace especially in times of challenge.   I entered religious life to grow closer to God and to make a difference in the world.

As I look back over 50 years, I see how this has truly become a reality for me.  I had many wonderful experiences as a teacher and as a pastoral minister.  I also was privileged to work with coal miners in Appalachia and women who were seeking to make a better life for themselves and their families.  In all of these events, I felt God’s spirit leading me and giving me the strength needed to respond in Mercy to those who were in need.  In times of prayer and during retreats, I have experienced the depth of God’s love for me in a special way.

Another important help were the sisters in my community who were an inspiration to me and were there for me.  My classmates, the ones I entered the community with, were especially important to me. We have stayed close over these 50 years and have been there to celebrate each other’s blessings and to support one another during challenging times.

My family was another strong support.  It was so good to have them with me for this celebration.  One of my sisters collected pictures and interviewed people I had ministered with over the years.  She put all of this together in a wonderful video that brought back many happy memories.  I feel so lucky to have such a loving family.

As I look back over all these things I can truly praise God’s gracious mercy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 9:30 pm

    Its wonderful to read you reflections on the past 50 years. I am always so appreciative of other peoples stories.

    • Connect with Mercy Blog permalink
      August 24, 2011 10:11 am

      Thank you for commenting! We’re glad that you enjoyed Sister Carolyn’s post.

What do you think?

