Skip to content

What does it mean to live in Community?

April 27, 2011

By Sister Pat P.

In past articles I have mentioned that living in a religious community is wonderful! The community enables you to minister to God’s people in a way that one could not do on their own. It enables you to minister to the poor, sick and uneducated. It supports you in prayer as well as enabling, encouraging and supporting you to take time for retreats, but most of all a community is a family that will always be there for you and your immediate family in thick and thin. You will never be alone. I have always known that and throughout my life as a Sister of Mercy I have always felt the support of my Sisters.

It recently became more evident to me, my family and my non-Mercy friends what being in a community means. On the morning of April 11th, my mother had a heart attack. She was rushed to the hospital and according to the Doctor, at the time all seemed hopeful. She had a strong heart and needed blood thinners because since she could not have surgery this was the only option. On Tuesday all seemed well. She would go home soon. By Wednesday, she did go home but her heart rate dropped and it would not go up.  My family and I no longer had hope that she would live on earth much longer, and saw that it was only a matter of time.  As soon as the Sisters heard, they were there to take care of my family, and friends.  They were in and out, visiting and making sure we had what we needed. The word went out and the prayers, emails, and texts came in. One expression or wish from my mother or the family and it was granted.

My mother died on April 18, 2011 at 7:55 PM. By 7:58 PM the Sisters were around us, grieving with us and assuring us of their support. They gathered immediately around my mother’s bedside and prayed the rosary. They waited with us as the funeral home came to pick her up. They made sure that the wake and funeral mass was planned and all was in order. The Sisters are my family and behaved like my family and friends. Today, I am still grieving and am helping my father but throughout it all my Sisters are there. I thank God for choosing Mercy and having the support I needed from them. Their calls, cards, and little acts of kindness have not gone unnoticed by me nor by my family, and they will never be forgotten. It has been great having the support of my friends, family and Mercy Community.

If you are thinking about joining us remember one thing.  When you join the Mercy community, you and your family get a powerhouse of prayer and support throughout your life because WE ARE FAMILY!

No comments yet

What do you think?

