Skip to content

Why are people in Cincinnati so happy?

September 30, 2010

By Sister Carolyn B.

It has been a long time since fans of the Cincinnati Reds have been able to celebrate a winning season much less a division championship, but the impossible has just happened.  People in Cincinnati are ecstatic!  How did the team pull this off?…

To be honest, I was one of those who said, “I’ll believe it when I see it.”  This was supposed to be a year when the Reds would do well to win a few more games than they lost.  With mostly young players and a history of 15 years since they had last won a title, their expectations for this year were not very high.  Many of their wins were come- from-behind in the last couple of innings or even extra innings.  Other teams had big name players who had won many awards in the past.

Reporters here in Cincinnati say that a major factor in their success was that their manager believed in his young players and was patient with them as they grew into becoming pros.  Another major factor was that the players were able to leave their egos behind and constantly ask, “What can I do to help my team win?” When Jay Bruce produced the winning home run to clinch the division title in the bottom of the ninth inning, his friend Joey Votto who is in contention for Most Valuable Player said, “It couldn’t have happened to a nicer guy.” According to reporters the players on this team really like each other and are having fun playing the game.

This team gives me much to reflect on as I go about living my life and ministering with others.  How well am I working as a team with others?  How do I support them and rejoice in their successes?  Do I have fun playing the game of life?

No comments yet

What do you think?

