Skip to content

Two Steps Backward, Three Forward

July 15, 2010

By Sister Carren

I am in retreat this week – taking some steps back from the busyness of life. This annual gift of time alone with God is an opportunity and a privilege I treasure every year. One of my deepest desires is to be able to share with any and everyone the spiritual gifts I’ve received over my lifetime… As I was preparing for retreat I asked God, “What grace should I ask for?”

The answer I got was “to see thee more clearly, love thee more dearly, follow thee more nearly, day by day.” I was awestruck! I can’t imagine a better gift. When the week is over I’ll be ready to step back into the rhythm of life and move forward as God calls me. It’s the rhythm of action and contemplation that our own Catherine McAuley practiced and counseled. Truly, the needs in the world drive us to prayer and prayer compels us back into ministry. You, my reader, have a special place in my retreat prayer this week.

No comments yet

What do you think?

