Skip to content

What will happen to this beach?

June 11, 2010

By Sister Carolyn B.

Last April another sister and I went to the beach at Gulf Shores in Alabama for a wonderful week of vacation.  While we were there we made a side trip to the beach at Pensacola, FL.  What a beautiful beach it was, with pure white sand and clear blue water…

It was expecially precious because she showed me a house right on the beach that her family had owned for many years.  This was just days before we heard about the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

It makes my heart sick to think that this beautiful beach and many others near it may be spoiled for years to come. But even more, I wonder what will happen to those whose very lifelihood is being threatened. I think of the people who worked so hard to bring the delicious seafood to our table as we dined out at the beach.  I wonder  what is happening to the pelicans who landed on the dock outside our window every day.

I must admit that I am at a loss as to how to respond in Mercy to this devastation. Do you have any suggestions?

No comments yet

What do you think?

