Skip to content

Flower Power

April 15, 2010

By Sister Carren

It’s like slow motion photography watching the buds on the geranium on my kitchen table unfold revealing soft pink beauty. Now I’m glad I didn’t put the plant in my compost pile at the end of last summer. Instead I brought it inside. I’ve enjoyed watching it grow over the months. Occasionally I turn it so it grows straight while bending to reach for the sun…

I’m reminded of this last line from a poem by Alfred Lord Tennyson:

“…Little flower — but if I could understand What you are, root and all, and all in all, I should know what God and man is.”

This ordinary, unremarkable flower, just growing where it’s planted, is teaching me life lessons.

No comments yet

What do you think?

