Skip to content

Lent-Feast or Famine?

March 10, 2010

By Sister Carren 

What feelings do you have about Lent? 40 days of endurance? A time of sacrifice and guilt?…

As I was reflecting on what I wanted my Lenten practice to be this year, the message that came to me was, “Live in my presence more consciously each day.” I heard God inviting me to a closer walk throughout this holy time. One consequence of being in closer communion with God is seeing people and events from God’s perspective. For me, that means judging more mercifully, being more forgiving.

I’ve come to love the season of Lent and look on it as a long busy person’s retreat. It puts me in touch with Jesus’ suffering which came from his passion for truth and justice. It will take me a lifetime of Lents to grow deeper and become the person God is calling me to be.

No comments yet

What do you think?

