Skip to content

“Be still and know that I am God”

January 11, 2010

By Sister Sheila

“It helps now and then, to step back and take the long view.”  

-Oscar Romero, Archbishop of San Salvador, friend of the poor, voice for justice, murdered in 1980.

As I sit to write this post today Archbishop Romero’s quote jumped to my mind. You see, I am in the midst of preparing and packing to leave for my annual retreat tomorrow morning.  As Sisters of Mercy, our Constitutions call us to step aside at least once a year for a time of retreat.  We see it as an opportunity to do as Archbishop Romero suggests and “…step back and take the long view.”

Our lives become busy with ministry, community, maybe care of relatives who are elderly, commitments to groups or committees and any number of other things that constantly call for our attention… all good things in our lives.  We see what is before us and attend with great diligence to that which we are called to do.  But every now and then, it is good to gain perspective by stepping back and reconnecting in a deeper way with the Holy.  Not that we don’t do that in our daily lives but it is often couched in all the other people, events and things we are doing.  Sometimes we need a longer period of time to move into a deeper place of contemplation to attend to our inner soul, to silence the outer world of responsibility and listen for God’s voice speaking to our hearts.

In doing this, often our lives come more clearly into perspective and become more ordered as to what is really important. and We become more acutely aware of how the action of God constantly intervenes and directs the actions of our lives.  Retreat, whether it is a week-end, week-long or even a day can be a blessed time which can change our way of thinking and can deepen our longing for God…always a blessing.

I look forward to my week away and know it will be a time of feeling wrapped in the loving arms of God as God asks me to “be still and know that I am God.”  As I begin my retreat know that I carry you and your intentions with me and offer them to our loving God.

I pray that you may find or make time for retreat sometime in this New Year.

No comments yet

What do you think?

