Skip to content

There is a time for everything…

November 9, 2009

By Sister Patti

I have lived in St. Louis, Missouri for four years and now I am getting ready to move to Silver Spring, Maryland. For the past three and a half years I have lived in a local community with 3 other sisters. We have prayed together, shared meals together, celebrated occasions together and today went to visit the family farm of Sister Agnes -something I wanted to do before I left.

As I pack up clothes, books and other things in preparation to leave I realize that there is more than that to leaving. I have memories I also need to sort through and good-byes I need to say to those who have touched my life.

Catherine McAuley says our life is “joys and sorrows mixed.” Community life is that way.  Living with others has its ups and downs. I can’t say that our community life has been perfect.  We have had some struggles and hard conversations. We have also had times of great joy and deep sharing. We have supported each other and also challenged each other. I know that I have cared for the others and even though I might not say it out loud, I have tried to show it in others ways – cooking a special meal or picking up a sister’s favorite type of crackers when I saw them on sale.

These sisters have been a part of my life and I know that because of them I have changed and grown.  I am no longer the same person I was when I moved in with them. I leave with gratitude for what they brought to my life. It is hard leaving and not knowing when we will see each other again.  The choice I have made for religious life and my faith in God help me to move on with hope for the new beginnings in my life. I say a prayer that God will bless these sisters with the gifts and graces they need as they continue to live the Gospel.

No comments yet

What do you think?

