Skip to content

The Gift of Time

November 5, 2009

By Sister Carolyn Mary

This morning I awakened to hear the sound of a gentle rain outside my bedroom window.

It was such a soothing sound as I lay in bed giving thanks for the fall season when the clock falls back returning that hour of sleep it borrowed in the spring.

At times like this I find myself reflecting on the call I received to follow Christ and to serve his people.  For me that has taken many different roads, starting as an elementary school teacher, a religious educator, diocesan adolescent consultant, diocesan youth ministry director and lastly a licensed clinical social worker.  During those years I have had many challenges as well as moments of great joy.  You see , whether I am counseling, sitting in the hospital praying with a dying person or their family member, or teaching I know Christ is present in all gathered and no matter how mundane or unimportant an activity may seem I am constantly challenged to let Him be in charge.  Hence, when I reflect in moments like this I ask myself did I get in the way or did I give God full freedom to work through me?

Time like this is important to all of us as it helps us to check the path we are on, to know our weaknesses and to celebrate our blessings.  Yes, the rain was a welcome gift as well as that extra hour but even more important was the time to reflect and recalibrate my path for my eyes are on Him and the journey has many twists and traps.

What about you?    I’d love to hear from you.

No comments yet

What do you think?

