Skip to content

Remembering My Dear Sister

July 13, 2012

By Sister Pat P.

Recently I received word about a Sister of Mercy in New York being hit by a car and killed.  I write this to show people how being a sister of Mercy in a large community is like being part of a large family. You see she entered the Sisters of Mercy in New York and I entered the Sisters of Mercy in North Carolina.  So one would think we did not know each other.  Well not so!  The news came to me like a brick hitting my head.  I could not believe it.  I knew her!  I ate meals with her; we laughed and spoke New York-ease (as she would say) to each other.  She loved God, life, the Sisters of Mercy, her students and her family.  We spent a few evenings in Panama City, Panama laughing about life.  At that time she looked at me and said, “You know I cannot worry about anything in life, I can only do the best I can for my family, friends, community and most of all for my God.  I hope when the day comes for me to meet the Lord he will say to me, ‘Well done good and faithful servant.’”

Of course in our minds we were thinking that going to God would be in the far distance future. Now 8 months later, she has been found dead.  Hit by a car!  A Hit and run!  I am sure as she fell to the ground she prayed for that person that hit her.  That is just the type of person she was – kind, loving and full of life.  She was a Sister of Mercy who loved with her whole heart.  She has now joined Catherine, our founder, in heaven at an early age.  She will be missed!  I am proud to be a Sister of Mercy and proud that I was able to call her my sister.  In minutes the emails and phone calls went out to thousands of Sisters – all are upset, all are speechless, all are praying for her family and friends and all are proud to call her, My Sister.  So my dear Sister Jackie, I know God has said to you, well done my good and faithful servant.  I pray, may your soul and the souls of the faithful departed rest in peace.  Amen

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie Neff permalink
    July 13, 2012 7:59 pm

    Amen! Sisters of Mercy are wonderful angels for God! He blessed me with the Sisters of Mercy. When I was attending graduate school, they called my mom and told her they needed a business store mangager and a business teacher. That was God calling me into teaching. It has been a love and a lifelong profession. God bless the Sisters sof Mercy for heeding His call. I love you all for you are my sisters as well.

  2. July 14, 2012 1:22 pm

    Eternal Rest Grant unto to her O Lord and let the perpetual light shine upon her, may she rest in Peace.
    With prayers,
    Rev. Dr. Peter Abas
    Borneo Island.

  3. anne connolly permalink
    July 16, 2012 6:55 am

    you and i and i am certain all thousands of us mercy have been like sponges looking for and reading all we could this past week about jackie. . jadkie’s eternal rest now has invited me further into saying what we have to say to one another now, so thanks for your words also here. i hoped all week that jackie was listening to music as she walked along, and that was confirmed for me reading sunday evening a new piece of news. i add to your prayer… and let that amazing perpetual light shine upon her, all our loved ones, and may they keep it enlightening all of our that we are led to now. amen.

What do you think?

